Oh Tarina!

By

Trudging back from the subway on a sleet-tastic Sunday night, I was elated to find Sephora still open. And even more delighted to discover the new Tarina Tarantino makeup line. Whenever I catch sight of one of her bright-hued beads, neon baubles or pastel confections, I’m often met with the nearly unstoppable urge to pop one in my mouth–they look like they’d taste just like a Jolly Rancher or vanilla cupcake.

Witness Exhibit A:

And Exhibit B:

And C:

Thankfully, her makeup is every bit as candy-bright, fun and frothy (with a bit of punk and goth thrown in for good measure) as her jewelry.

The line features a delicious array of richly pigmented shades, plus plenty of sparkle and attitude.

I am particularly hearting the Kapinki brush…

…as well as the adorable shadow, powder and blush compacts (blush pictured here).

Other standout items include the amazing Eye Dream Hyperliner pencils. The bold, unexpected hues glide on with a powdery finish and really stay on–it took some scrubbing to get the test scribbles off my hand. I opted for Locket Book, a rich brown eyeliner with a bit of golden sparkle, but was equally entranced with Kanzashi, a brilliant silvery turquoise, and Broken Doll, the palest shimmering pink.

There were also some pretty crystal and tulle flower hair clips.

I was aching to buy this gray and pink lovely but didn’t quite have the nerve. Maybe Spring will renew my fashion courage. It’s gotta warm up some time, right? And in case it doesn’t, I’ll be spilling some of Fall 2010’s beauty secrets very soon…

